jiujitsu365’s post on 10,000 hours of training got me thinking about this cocktail party or blog post trivia from Malcolm Gladwell’s book Outliers: The Story of Success and various social scientists – that mastery of a skill takes at least 10,000 hours. At 40 hours per week, 50 weeks per year, that’s 5 years. Thinking about an occupational skill such as computer programming or medicine, seems about right for basic mastery. Unfortunately, I have well over 9,000 hours to go before getting to this milestone with any internal or soft art, even lumping them all together as one kind of skill. At one hour per day, I have roughly 25 years to go to have any skill. Even with some skills from internal arts being easier to practice any time in the day, I think I’m well behind that schedule. Well, it’s amusing to quantify anyway. At least in internal arts, one is already expected to be old before attaining any mastery. If I could grow a long white beard like the Gordon Liu character/caricature in Kill Bill, that’d be perfect.

