This story is covered a lot of places since 23andMe’s genetic test is Time magazine’s Invention of the Year, but I like the BBC article. One of the co-founders is also famous for being married to Google co-founder, Sergey Brin. Interview excerpt:

“Everyone is going to have some kind of disease or illness or event that is going to happen in their family and we feel very strongly that if you know that ahead of time you will be able to take actions to impact that and have a better life.”

Ms Wojcicki understands this only too well. Her husband Sergey Brin, the co-founder of Google, discovered as a result of a gene test that he is predisposed to Parkinson’s disease, a degenerative disorder of the central nervous system.

“In Sergey’s case it has been really empowering for him. He exercises more, he doesn’t drink caffeine. It impacts me because I am pregnant and I know that our child is at a higher risk for that too but there are things that you can do,” said Ms Wojcicki who worked for 10 years in healthcare investment.

“I think it is absolutely crazy in this day and age that I have to go through a trial and error method to see if my child is allergic to an antibiotic or peanuts. I should just know,” said Ms Wojcicki.
“So, by getting the genetic information early in life, I am going to be able to create a better atmosphere and healthcare outcome for my child.”

It seems stupid to me not to get whatever information is available and keep getting more information. 23andMe.com has the ordering and other info. All that’s required is spitting into a tube and mailing it to the lab, then waiting 4-6 weeks. Not as easy as the Star Trek Tricorder but so easy it seems ridiculous. I’ll give it a try and post something about the process and results here, later.

