I like Sifu Rudy’s videos a lot. They all have a casual feel of just a few friends training in the park. In this one he demos beng quan.

The demo reminds me of wing chun’s chain punching. I’m not sure of the difference. I think it comes down to his comment where his knee drives where his elbow goes and the rotation of the waist. Slightly more turning where wing chun would be linear. I am guessing.

It’s very clear that Sifu Rudy’s six external harmonies are always there whereas the posture and connectedness of his student are not. The cameraman keeps saying “more santi” which seems right on. It’s very visible how that is the key, I think. The bit about the tiger’s mouth is interesting. He also shows a transition from crushing to drilling but I haven’t caught the how or why here yet.

