I keep finding once I write something down, it almost suddenly seems so obvious, why didn’t I think of it before? However, before, it just wasn’t obvious to me, sometimes even right before I thought of the sentence. A good, unexpected side benefit of blogging. What is the name of that phenomenon? Epiphany is too strong a word. It should mean “obvious in hindsight” or “gee why didn’t I see that before”, or “discovering the obvious that was hidden in plain sight”, but not exactly the same thing as “20/20 hindsight” or “I was blind but now I see” and more specific than simply learning or having an “aha”. There ought to be a word for it.

Also, what is the name of the phenomenon when some new product or market is discovered, e.g. DVR’s via TiVo, the Sony Walkman, the Wii, consumer GPS, the Apple iPod, the World Wide Web, and in retrospect it seems like “gee how did we ever not have that?” What is that called? It is happening more and more in tech markets. It’s a weird phenomenon.

