Aha I found out where the funny forms in kungfu come from. It’s from the same source of those funny names. My other kid keeps making up “moves” he then shows me. What do they look like? They look just like performance art wushu though of course not so acrobatically and athletically amazing. Now my kid with the creative names just needs to name the moves for his brother and voila, they’ve invented yet another style.

I can imagine the Hong Kong movie where the little kids invent these things then they retain this little kid nature as monks but then the movie fast forwards and the monks are grown up, ripped, and powerful and doing some amazing stuff that 2,000 years later doesn’t seem, er, terribly useful except in “general physical preparedness” … and maybe except in Cirque du Soleil, a sort of modern analog to Beijing Opera.

