I’ve never heard of this art called jukido, but this essay provides some good criticism and advice on how one should approach randori – probably the way Kano intended – for “research and development” of throws with the right open attitude and not attempting to not get thrown, thereby imposing too many limits on learning new material. The danger of not stretching and growing is further exacerbated by “stopping” behaviors in a given sport due to particular rules – often we’ll stop at a certain point and that may be contrary to more self-defense oriented or less limited mma goals. I am pro martial sport but these kind of considerations are important to remember. I can see myself acquiring bad habits, e.g., now I tend to try to throw partners on their backs due to rules from shiai (and I’m not overly interested in shiai yet that still happens) and that just isn’t optimal in any larger setting such as self-defense or mma – in those cases throwing someone down on their front could often be better. Now I am probably overlooking those kinds of opportunities.

The essay was interesting for various other points. I also didn’t realize that Kano had lengthened sleeves for safety. I like the variations suggested such as left-side only. Not sure I agree with the point about don’t try a throw you haven’t been taught as that could limit creativity coming out of experimentation and cross-training – the point of that “r&d”.

