Interesting training progression to go back and read later. I am a bit unclear about how one is supposed to combine neigong and waigong and at what ratios, order, etc. No one really prescribes some definite ratio anywhere I can find except for some of the yiquan sites (50% zhan zhuang is right). I plan to stick to the only ratio that I can find explicitly stated for now.

On the wai gong side, there is a lot of advice from more modern training methods. E.g., no more than 30 minutes intense cardio 3 days a week. No more than 45 minutes intense resistance training the other 3 days a week. 1 day off. A lot of these points are debated by expert practitioners and researchers but at least the variance in their advice is quite small. In looking at traditional nei and wai gong, I can’t tell. I’d say there is some modern analog to the wai gong part in “whole body” “core” and “pillar” training (pillar being basically hips to shoulders, which seems to be a concept advocated mainly by the Core Performance folks that I find is far superior to the “core” craze and much more complementary to the kind of martial arts or sports functional training I want and not directly against the neigong) and back to the future stuff on bodyweight training (so many good sites on this kind of training with so many exercises such as burpees, etc., etc.).

So there is a lot of good advice to follow in the wai gong area and I’ve barely followed any of it so far. I’m sure I’ll figure out AN answer for myself but I’m also sure it’s not the optimal answer that a scientific method could figure out. Then again, not that I can necessarily muster enough discipline to follow the “optimal” method but I hope to guess right and do something that later seems to both feel right and be more or less deemed most efficient by the state of the art findings. That last part will probably take another 20 years at least.

